Unique Learning is an authorised centre of PTE General

Pearson Test of English General (PTE General) is a six-level general English test.

All levels of PTE General are recognised globally and are accepted by employers and national education authorities in many countries as evidence of a required level of English. The six levels of the test are provided in partnership with Edexcel Limited, the largest UK awarding body for academic and vocational qualifications.


Pearson Test of English General (PTE General) is designed to reward positive achievement in English language learning.
PTE General integrates all four skills (Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing) and focuses on assessing the ability of communicating in English, rather than test-taking skills. The tasks in the test are a natural continuation of what happens in the classroom, giving test takers the opportunity to perform at their best.


PTE General consists of two parts: a written paper and a spoken test. The written paper tests listening, reading comprehension and writing skills and is marked by external examiners in the UK.
The spoken test is assessed by trained local examiners and is sent to the UK for moderation.
There are six levels which are linked to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEF).
All levels in the test are awarded by Edexcel and accredited by Ofqual in the UK.
PTE General certificates do not expire.
English language learners are encouraged to seek opportunities to practice the language and confirm their progress regularly. 


  • Foundation Level – CEFR level A1
  • Level 1 – CEFR level A2
  • Level 2 – CEFR level B1
  • Level 3 – CEFR level B2
  • Level 4 – CEFR level C1
  • Level 5 – CEFR level C2